Are crabapples safe for goats to eat?

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by stilwellchick, Jul 18, 2008.

1. stilwellchick

stilwellchick Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 16, 2007
    Stilwell, KS
    Do they need to be cut up first? Is it okay for kids to eat them? We have tons and I have been taking them to the woods for the deer.

2. chickbea

chickbea Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 18, 2007
    Vermont
    I know someone with pygmy goats and they eat crabapples, sometimes right off the tree.
    You can also make preserves from them.
    As kids, we used to have mighty crabapple wars in our neighborhood - lots of fun!
    If you have a somewhat iron stomach and don't mind trotting to the bathroom frequently the next day, some people say they make tasty pies. I'm not a big fan of cooked apples in general, so I have no personal experience in that one. [​IMG]

3. key west chick

key west chick Chillin' With My Peeps

May 31, 2008
    Gainesville, GA
    I've been wondering the same thing. Mine have been eating them for months now. Seem to be doing fine!

4. helmstead

helmstead Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 12, 2007
    Alfordsville, IN
    I have three large crabapple trees near my goats and we feed them to them all the time as a treat. The kids generally don't eat them...

5. miss_jayne

miss_jayne Lady_Jayne

Jun 26, 2008
    Columbiaville, MI
    yep, no oak and no cherry though, no matter what!

6. goldensunriseranch

goldensunriseranch Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 1, 2007
    Mays Landing NJ
    I would be very careful not to give too much. Goats can get bloat very easily. As long as you have bloat treatment onhand I'd say you'd be ok. I'd just watch how much they eat and keep an eye on them afterwards. They have a tendency to have eyes bigger than their stomachs! At least mine do. It can also make for some pretty messy stalls and hindends if you know what I mean. [​IMG]

7. miss_jayne

miss_jayne Lady_Jayne

Jun 26, 2008
    Columbiaville, MI