Are Mixed Variety Baby Chicks More Vulnerable?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Barry Natchitoches, Sep 15, 2009.

1. Barry Natchitoches

Barry Natchitoches Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 4, 2008
    Tennessee
    Please bear with me. I'm new at chicken raising, and this is the first time I've had a pullet go broody on me.

Here's the deal.

We only have one rooster -- an Easter Egger.

We have five pullets less than half a year old, plus two older hens who are over a year old.

One of our little pullets -- a buff orpington -- has gone broody less than a month after laying her first egg.

Her eggs are so small that we fear they won't be able to make it, even though we know for a fact that she has mated with the roo.

The roo has mated with one of the older hens -- the older buff orpington. He has never been able to get near the other older hen, since she is higher in the pecking order than even the roo is.

So we got the older buff's eggs, and gave them to Ms. Broody. We figure they'd have a better chance because they are larger eggs.

But here is my question: the roo is an Easter Egger, and the mother is a Buff Orpington.

Will there be a problem with the chicks surviving? I am not concerned that the resulting chick will be a mix breed. In fact, it will be fun to see what the new little chick(s) look like, and will any mix breed hens lay brown or blue eggs?.

I'm just wondering if there will be a greater than normal chance of problems because of the mixed parentage.

2. happi752

happi752 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 12, 2009
    Casa Grande
    the answer is nope wont affect it. less chance in fact because you know for sure they are not kin to one another. but it will be definitely interesting to see what it looks like when it does hatch. good luck to you.

3. PortageGirl

PortageGirl Chillin' With My Peeps

yep, no problem at all. They'll all have fuzzy butts and be cute as heck.

4. lauralou

lauralou Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 10, 2007