Are my Blue Swedish good quality?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by LostGosling, Jul 14, 2011.

1. LostGosling

LostGosling Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 11, 2011
    I've been wanting to breed and show my pair of young Blue Swedish ever since I bought them. I'm no expert on judging the breed, so I'm asking the masses if my birds would stand a chance at the White River Show in September. What do you guys think? Do you think that I might even be able to use them as foundation stock in a breeding program? [​IMG]

[​IMG]
    This is Whisper my Drake. He has two white primary feathers on each wing, which I've heard is a good thing.

[​IMG]
    This is Mattie and Whisper together. Mattie is on the left. She also has the white primary feathers.

I will be posting more pictures later when my camera batteries are charged! [​IMG]

Last edited: Jul 14, 2011
  2. 70%cocoa

70%cocoa Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 24, 2011
    Canberra, Australia
    If I were you I would breed from these two. Showing them is also a great idea and I would definitely recommend it. It is very helpful to talk to the judge once the judging is finished. Ask him or her to talk to you about your birds and to show you their strengths and weaknesses. You will get a lot of great feedback this way that will help you in your breeding. Judges are usually extremely happy to be asked to talk about your birds with you. Just listen politely, ask questions and take it all as a learning experience. You do it to learn and to show off the breed.

Here are a few of my own thoughts [​IMG]