Are my chicks going to be inside forever??

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by speckledegg, Jul 19, 2011.

1. speckledegg

speckledegg Out Of The Brooder

Jun 2, 2011
    W. WA
    Ok, a little dramatic, but so are they! [​IMG] They don't want to stay outside a night. They are almost 6 weeks old and fully feathered. The nights are in the mid 50's (good ol PNW!) We have a chicken ark tractor and they are so happy in there all day, but come night time, they are SOOOO loud!! I'd leave them in there and let them work it out and put themselves to bed, but they are loud enough to disturb the neighbors. They happily hop into my hands for me to bring them inside to their brooder for the night. They seem to know the drill...

How do I ease the transition to leaving them outside for the night? Any advice?

2. WalkingHorse

WalkingHorse Out Of The Brooder

Bare in mind I'm new to chickens..raising my first little flock. Do they have a night light in their outdoor tractor? Also, I have come to learn that they are creatures of habit and routine just like my horses. Maybe they are peeping in protest because they know you will bring them in to their familiar nighty night spot? [​IMG] PS please send some of your 50F weather down here! [​IMG]

3. hcppam

hcppam Chillin' With My Peeps

Can you move the coop close to the house, and let them make a Racket. It's just the great unknown with them right now. [​IMG]

4. hokankai

hokankai Chillin' With My Peeps

May 18, 2010
    SW WA
    I second the light idea. I did that for my first set of babies and they did GREAT. looks like my second batch of chicks is going to respond equally well [​IMG]

Just one of those battery powered touch lights is sufficient...no power cord required.

5. juliaaa

juliaaa Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 15, 2011
    Syracuse, New York
    Quote:I would have never thought of a touch light! Good idea [​IMG]

6. speckledegg

Jun 2, 2011
    W. WA