Are my new birds a threat?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by greatestgrammie, Aug 5, 2009.

1. greatestgrammie

greatestgrammie In the Brooder

Jul 21, 2008
    Amarillo,Tx 79118
    I'm sure this question has been posted before but like most I don't have the patience to look at page after page to find the answer I'm looking for. I'm bad.
    I started raising chickens 5+yrs ago and with those skills passed down from my G'ma's and a friend who is a 35+yr veteran in raising chickens I "think" I'm an expert but find out daily that I can still have questions.
    For the most part I have picked up my chickens from individuals and or hatched out/bought chicks to raise up.
    When I picked up some new birds I noticed a very strong offensive odor in the poop left in the crates I carried them home in but since they had been allowed to roam with horses/goats etc I assumed that their diet/water had not been of the best and that it would resolve after putting them on a better diet of Scratch/Layer Crumbles,vegetable scraps and grasses and as far as I can tell I think it has resolved.
    I have had these birds now for about 11 days but in the last 4-5 days when I check on my birds after they go to roost I have heard a couple of the new birds and maybe a couple of my own birds making a sneeze or cough noise. . . not very distinct but I know it is not a normal noise. Should I be worried about Avian Flu?
    I don't notice any other symptoms. . . no discolored poop,no blood in the poop,no listless birds,no unexplained loss of feathers,appetites appear to be good etc

With our weather being somewhat inconsistent(rainy one day,hot the next day etc) since acquiring these birds I am wondering if maybe this has caused them to get a "cold"?