Are my Silkies Male or Female??

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by neesey, Feb 20, 2012.

1. neesey

neesey Out Of The Brooder

Oct 4, 2011
    Ireland
    Heya I am new to keeping chickens. I got two silkies 3 months ago there now about 4 months old. We asked for both to be female and we were aware that its very hard to sex chicks. I was wondering if anyone could help me figure out as to whether our silkies are male or female. I am so sorry but my terms and descriptions will probably be awful as I still have not caught up on chicken lingo (",)

One of the silkies is smaller than the other not hugely but you would definately notice it.The smaller ones feet are much smaller than the others. Also the bigger one has developed quiet a large blackish comb?? on his/her head. The smaller one doesn't appear to have this. I'm not sure as to whether they all have this or not to be honest as in many of the photos on google images they are all super fluffy and its hard to see their heads :)

My info is very bitty I know but hopefully you will be able to see by the attached photos.

Boo Bear is the Bigger one and he/she is in the 1st, 2nd and 4th photos
    Miss Henny Penny is the smaller one and he/she is in the 3rd photo.

I may have to change their names though eek :)

Thanks a million.

[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. hdowden

hdowden Overrun With Chickens

Aug 14, 2011
    louisiana
    the 1st is deffently a cockerel the 2nd its hard to tell but looks like a pullet

3. neesey

Oct 4, 2011
    Ireland
    aw noooo. lol. Oh well. Thanks a million for you response really appreciate it. Yeah its very hard to get a good photo of miss henny penny lol.

4. wildcat chix

wildcat chix Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 27, 2011
    Barbourville, Kentucky
    Looks like you have one of each. I'd like to see a side view, full body shot of each though.

5. neesey

Oct 4, 2011
    Ireland