Are the chickens at the top of the pecking order better layers?

JuliaSunshine

Songster
Apr 3, 2022
West coast Canada
It's my first year keeping chickens and my nine 7 month old Light Sussex are now giving me 2-3 eggs a day (total 2-3 eggs from 9 chickens).
I understand they slow down as the day gets shorter but I noticed only a few chickens lay most of the eggs and the rest seem to not lay at all.

About a half of them lay every day or every second day and they're the top 4-5 chickens in the pecking order. The rooster usually hangs out with these.

The other 4 chickens are a bit hopeless.

One's scared and aggressive at the same time. The rooster sometimes chases her away.

Another one's comb and wattles are very small and pale as if she hasn't fully matured (but she must've laid in the summer as I got one egg from everyone).

The third one started laying late and has gotten sick recently. Still very skittish.

The fourth one has also small comb and wattles and looks shabby as her feathers are scarce in the head. I'm not sure if she's molting or others pecked her. The rooster started to chase her away too recently.

The most of these four started laying late and now they're probably not laying.
Is it because they're low in the pecking order?
I wonder if I should've sold them earlier or if they'll lay better once the spring comes.

They free range all day in a forest/pasture setting and the feed and water is always available.

Last edited:
Are you absolutely sure that your Light Sussex is laying more than one egg a day?
Normally no hen lays more than one, in fact its very rare, and usually means problems down the track.
I have not noticed any of my low in the pecking order hens laying less than others.

Are you absolutely sure that your Light Sussex is laying more than one egg a day?
Normally no hen lays more than one, in fact its very rare, and usually means problems down the track.