Are There any non-crowing rooster breeds?

Atrayu

Chirping
8 Years
Aug 12, 2011
Hermosa, South Dakota
I have been thinking about getting a rooster, but my family really doesn't want me to, because of the crowing. Does anyone know if there is a breed of non-crowing roosters or at least roosters who whisper crow?
wink.png
or even breeds that crow very little.
I am new at this and just wondering.
thanks in advance

You CAN train your chickens! I train, rescue, rehabilitate, and rehome chickens. I've had two separate instances of seven roosters, housed together WITH hens ( the most chickens I had at one point was twenty-seven ), and no crowing, no fighting.

Crowing is caused by one of two things: Dominance or feeling unsafe. If YOU are dominant, your roosters won't have a reason to crow for that, and otherwise they'll crow if they feel unsafe or insecure in their environment, which you can also remedy by spending enough time with them to ensure your position of dominance means that they are well taken care of, they have plenty of food and water at all times, and there's nothing to worry about.

For further information you can visit my blog , and for specific inquiries, you can feel free to Email me. :3

Quote:
You don't need to "train" chickens to allow roosters to live together without fighting. . . .

Also, having just one rooster, sorry, but chances are he will crow, no matter what "training" goes on. Multiple roosters, sure, most won't crow, but otherwise. . . . There are indeed quieter breeds, and I always recommend breeds with a lower pitched crow.

I like to compare bantams and standards like this... Bantams are like the yippie little dogs and standards are like the big wuff, wuff dogs. My neighbors standard roo is close to us, but he is hard to hear. I think my bantams are louder. Everyone has their on experiences. This one is mine. Not right or wrong.
big_smile.png
Good luck!