are these membranes dried out?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by tazzy, Jun 14, 2008.

1. tazzy

tazzy Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 2, 2008
    Kentucky
    Our chickies are hatching. Two of the membranes look dried out. We're hatching under the mama hen, no incubator.

Are these membranes a problem? I don't want to mess with them, but I am curious. Thanks!

[​IMG]

2. DuckyBoys

DuckyBoys Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 2, 2008
    Colorado
    They look a little dry to me - but I'm a novice so don't take my word for it.

3. chickfillhay

chickfillhay Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 31, 2007
    Berlin Nh
    If the membrane is white, then it is dried out. It will be very hard for the little chick to hatch itself if the egg is not directly under mama. I put my hand under the hen to see how many eggs were there. And the moisture was fenominal! YUCK! Warm and Damp.
    I would go in there to make sure all the eggs were under mama properly.
    In your case, I (this is only me) would start helping the chick hatch. Little by little using tweezers take a tiny bit off and zip it open. Just by looking at those eggs I can see the shell has been picked off already.
    Those chicks need air. AND FAST! Can you give it a little tug like a zipper? At least try to give the chick some breathing area. And keep checking on it. Give it a chance to hatch itself.

4. Tuffoldhen

Tuffoldhen Flock Mistress

Jan 30, 2007
    WV
    I do not mess with chicks hatching under a Broody hen...looks like they have pipped and need to be left alone under her...

5. clarkestep

clarkestep Chillin' With My Peeps

May 20, 2008
    N Metro Atlanta