Are two roosters too much for one hen???

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by newchickenfan, Jan 4, 2009.

1. newchickenfan

newchickenfan New Egg

Jan 4, 2009
    This is my first post and I do need help. We hatched three buff orpingtons and they have been in our good care from the beginning. They are 6 months old and beautiful. I am new to owning chickens as you can see by my name. All three seem to be getting along great and there is no conflict. One of the roosters is quite sweet with me as well. However, do you believe it necessary for me to get rid of at least one of them. How much rooster is too much for one hen? I hate to split them up.

Rosie

2. jjthink

jjthink Overrun With Chickens

Jan 17, 2007
    New Jersey
    Can you add a few hens?
    Usually 1 hen and 2 roos will turn out to be a problem. I have 1 very gentle roo who is always kind to his one hen friend but it doesn't always work out that way and he doesn;t have another oo around to get upset with.
    JJ

3. ibpboo

ibpboo Where Chickens Ride Horses

Jul 9, 2007
    always changing
    Yes, two roosters is too much for one hen. Keep holding the roosters and carrying them around as much as possible. When they get older is when they start getting aggressive. I don't keep a rooster, but once when I bought some chicks, one was a rooster. I forget exactly how old he was before he turned aggressive, but he always tore up one hen the most, and I had 5. Then he started attacking me, and since I had small children at the time, I rehomed him.

[​IMG]

Last edited: Jan 4, 2009
  4. Katy

Katy Flock Mistress

I'd add some more hens...or get rid of one of the roos. It's recommended to have at least 10 hens for every roo.

5. The Chicken Lady

The Chicken Lady Moderator Staff Member

Apr 21, 2008
    West Michigan