Are Wood duck ducklings avaliable anywhere

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Mallardman, May 3, 2011.

1. Mallardman

Mallardman Out Of The Brooder

Apr 24, 2011
    I would love to have some wood ducks they are so beautiful but i think half the fun is rasing them from day old ducklings, but the only thing i can find is junival pairs dose anybody know were i can find ducklings. Also is it about the same to raise wood ducks as it is other breeds i have no experience with wood ducks and only limited with other breeds but it is like a disease i just love rasing ducks they are so cute and fun to watch so if anyone has any advice on wood ducks it would be great

2. KlaHaYa Gardens

KlaHaYa Gardens Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 14, 2011
    To answer the title of your thread: No.

To answer your post, there is a peacock breeder on this forum (whose name I can't remember) that, as I recall, also raises wood ducks. They are NOT the easiest ducks to find.

Maybe you will notice the peacock breeder in the pea forum and you will notice his website under his avatar. (Sorry I can't remember the site name or his handle.)

3. KansasKid

KansasKid Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 7, 2010
    South East Kansas
    Wood ducks are actually a very common bird to raise as they are a great beginner bird. Its that time of year so most have eggs by now and soon will have ducklings. I would just keep a look out on local ads, and on here (as i know many raise them on here), might also look GBWF forum, and maybe BestFarmBuys.com. Good Luck.

BTW raising them from ducklings is not going to be like raising any domestic ducklings, they are a naturally wild bird so they will be skittish and have claws like no other and will try and escape/climb the brooder, then later in life they will either have to be in an aviary or the wings clipped in a safe enclosure.

Last edited: May 3, 2011
  4. chickenlisa

chickenlisa Invincible Summer

Apr 9, 2007