Are Wyandottes good chickens?

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Jdc361, Feb 14, 2015.

1. Jdc361

Jdc361 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 14, 2015
    I'm new to chickens and I have heard that tractor supply carries Wyandottes. I was just wondering how friendly they were? Are they good with kids? Do they do well with other birds? Egg production? Cold hardy?

2. Eggmachine11

Eggmachine11 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 8, 2015
    MO
    I have heard they are aggresssive with others,but overall,I'd say great with kids.

3. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana
    Welcome to BYC. Glad you decided to our flock. I've had a number of Wyandottes over the past 50 years, and they have generally been quite docile and friendly. They weren't quite the lap pets with my children that a few of the other breeds were, and on rare occasions, I've had an aggressive one that I had to cull from the flock, but that was definitely the exception and not the rule. Wyandottes are very cold hardy, their rose combs are virtually immune to frost bite, are good layers of large, brown eggs, and I would definitely recommend them as a good breed. Please feel free to ask any questions you may have. We are here to help in any way we can. Good luck with your flock.

4. Wyandottes7

Wyandottes7 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    Welcome! [​IMG]I'm glad you joined the BYC "flock".