ARG! Everybody says to do a different temp and humidity level!!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by CityGirlintheCountry, May 9, 2009.

1. CityGirlintheCountry

CityGirlintheCountry Green Eggs and Hamlet

Jul 7, 2007
    Middle TN
    Okay, this is my first time incubating and admittedly I am a little neurotic and obsessive about it. That being said, I am really confused about the correct temperature and humidity to strive for.
    I have a Hovabator 1602 still air. I am in TN where it has been monsooning for the last two weeks. Eggs are on day 7.

The directions with the incubator say to keep temps at 100 deg F.
    Searching on here the general results say to keep it at 102 for still air.
    My temps have been between 99 and 102.7. Am I killing them?

Humidity is not mentioned in the directions at all other than to fill up the trough and leave it full.
    Dry incubation proponents on here say to leave the humidity in the 30-40% range.
    Others say to keep humidity in the 60% range.
    With both vent plugs out (due to reading on here that ventilation is key) and no water in the trough, but an open orange juice glass of water serving as a heat sink my humidity has stayed between 40-48%. I know I am supposed to up that on day 18, but for now is it fine?

I just need one set of directions to follow. I've candled everything, but truthfully don't really know what I'm looking for. I have tossed three eggs already (two that had the yolk just swishing around with no apparent veining and one that had a definite line around the dark part which I assumed was a blood ring), but I see veins in some and dark areas in most (like the air cell is there and one side of the egg is really dark).

Whose directions do I follow? I really want these eggs to do well!

2. NancyP

NancyP Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 28, 2009
    Bonifay,Florida
  3. shelleyd2008

shelleyd2008 the bird is the word

Sep 14, 2008
    Adair Co., KY