Argh! Dusty, dusty, dusty

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by coolcanoechic, Feb 8, 2012.

1. coolcanoechic

coolcanoechic Chillin' With My Peeps

My coop is small, and I am still pretty new to chickens. When I first built my coop, I put sand in it with some DE mixed in. I would scoop out a couple of poops every day when I got home from work. It worked well, but the girls loved dust bathing in there. There was a tremendous amount of dust left on everything and I soon realized this cannot be good for them to breathe. [​IMG]

So I took all of the sand out and replaced it with chopped straw that I got cheap at the end of the summer from the hardware store up the street. It stays nice and dry and smells sweet, but again, the girls love scratching around in it, and there is still lots of dust in the coop every day when I get home from work to clean it. Is this much dust normal? Do wood chips create less dust? I have not tried them yet, because the straw works so well. I only have 2 girls to clean up after, so poop is minimal and the coop is well made so water leakage from the weather will never be a problem. It is very, very dry in the coop.

Am I doing something wrong? Maybe I should open the extra window vents to let fresh air in during the day? The pop door is open all day and there is a vent in the ceiling of the coop. It is winter here, so I have been keeping the windows closed to give them a refuge from the cold and wind.

Any ideas would be most appreciated. I really don't want to spend money on wood chips if they will end up being just as dusty. You can see pictures of my coop on my page.

Thanks everyone!

2. JackE

JackE Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 26, 2010
    North Eastern Md.