Arizona hatchers????????

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by brijay2, Aug 5, 2009.

1. brijay2

brijay2 Songster

Jun 16, 2009
    Waddell AZ
    Anyone out there have trouble with humidity in homemade bators. I'm trying to trouble shoot mine. I have excellent development and no hatches. I can't seem to get my humidity above 40%

2. mahalo4

mahalo4 Songster

Jun 16, 2009
    Gilbert,AZ
    what are you using as an incubator?and what are you using for humidity? adding x-tra sponges with warm water works great to add more surface area and bump up humidity i use commercial sponges and cut some to add just enough. i am new at this but i am sure someone with more experiance can help you more 40% is great for the first 18 days then add the sponges during the last days to kick it up to aroung 65% for the last few days.

Last edited: Aug 5, 2009
  3. AK_Button_Mama

AK_Button_Mama Songster

Dec 30, 2008
    Wasilla, Alaska
    yeah more surface area and it its a hopmade bator you should build a hose onto so you dont have to open it. make a funel and hose device that you can slowly add water to the bator without opening it! every time its opened it causes the humidity to drop drasitically. good luck and we are from Phoenix but now live in Alaska... where are you?

4. Bigdaddy101

Bigdaddy101 In the Brooder

Jul 24, 2009
    Hardin