Arkansas Newbie

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by CuckooNest, May 1, 2009.

1. CuckooNest

CuckooNest New Egg

May 1, 2009
    Figured I should introduce myself, I’ve been evolving myself towards sufficient living for probably 5 years now, been researching chicken husbandry on and off again for about a year now. Pushing mid 30’s and reside in central Arkansas so what better way to make use of my spare time huh? Getting old, yeah it’s everything they say, Arkansas not so much. I did relocate here by choice so I’m biased but getting back to nature is only a few short miles from the city and with it’s pristine lakes and diverse foothills it’s a great place for a simple man such as myself.

I’ve lurked these boards for some time now, admired and brainstormed from the coop gallery but finally took the plunge today. No I haven’t bought my first chick yet but after I had one of those rare moments of genius, that or the blunt force of the obvious that struck me head on (more on that later), so I swung by the hardware store on the way home from work and picked up a bundle of 2x2’s to get to work on the coop. Besides, I’ve finished with the majority of the spring gardening chores and was really looking forward to a new experience and the satisfaction I get from living a more self sustainable lifestyle. I look to raise 4-6 multi-purpose birds mostly for egg production but with enough meat on their bones after a couple yearsJ, hopefully the local has some RIReds tomorrow.