artificial light

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by lambergirl, Nov 15, 2007.

1. lambergirl

lambergirl New Egg

Aug 7, 2007
    Northland, Michigan
    I have 18 week old buffs and have heard sooooo many different veiws on the subject. I am using a light for 17 hours a day. Is it too early for them? Is it too much light? When do pullets turn into hens? I've also heard that I am supposed to feed laying food at least 4 weeks before they start to lay. I bought a commercial feed ( layena ) and added oyster shell to it. I am soooo afraid of harming my sweet babies. This is my first time raising chickens.

2. MissPrissy

MissPrissy Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

May 7, 2007
    Forks, Virginia
    Pullets are female chickens under 1 year old. They do not need the extra calcium in the laying feed and oyster shells until they begin to lay. I would caution you to switch back to grower feed as the added calcium could cause problems since they don't need a lot extra right now. If you will note many on this board have flocks that are not starting to laying until closer to 30 weeks. Some sooner and some later.

It is recommended for 14 hours of light, the extra light added in the early morning starting around 4 am or so. Too many hours of light when they are producing burns them out and their life cycle of egg production is shortened.

If your pullets are not laying they do not need laying feed nor the extra light.

3. Tuffoldhen

Tuffoldhen Flock Mistress

Jan 30, 2007
    WV