Aside from the crowing.......

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by sixinva, Jun 22, 2010.

1. sixinva

sixinva Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 6, 2010
    So, im a newb, and the 6 hens I got from the feed store, with a 99% hen only success rate, has yielded me one barred rock rooster and 5 hens. Im in a fairly open area, so Im not sure the roosters crowing will be a concern, and i kind of like it.....and i know that he might get agressive, which will put him on a bus with a one way pass,,,,,,but im a bit conflicted as to whether i want to keep him or not. I do not at this time want to raise chicks...so no need for a roo really.....So, is having a rooster, if he behaves, really a pain? Broody hens (do they get broody without a roo?), horny roo jumping everything in site, etc etc.....

So, does he stay or does he go......what really are the pros and cons of having a rooster in the bunch. im very interested in feedback from those more experienced with this....

[​IMG]

2. greenfamilyfarms

greenfamilyfarms Big Pippin'

Feb 27, 2008
    Elizabethtown, NC
    That appears to be a pullet also. Can you get a whole-body picture of her?

3. Happy Chooks

Happy Chooks Moderator Staff Member

Jul 9, 2009
    Northern CA
    My Coop
    Hens will go broody with or without a rooster.

We got our rooster for protection for our hens. Our run is not covered as it's our orchard. We wanted a rooster to look out and warn the hens of danger since the hens spend their entire day with their butts in the air. I love having him and I am glad we decided to keep a rooster. He warns the girls of danger (he sees the hawks before I do) and has different vocal sounds depending on how close the threat is. He finds treats for them and calls them over to give it to the girls.