1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

At what age will a chick use the roost?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by roni0907, Jul 27, 2011.

1. roni0907

roni0907 Out Of The Brooder

Jul 24, 2011
    SF Bay/ Delta Area in CA
    I am a newbie, and my 5-6 week old chicks have now spent two nights inside their coop outside. We have to pick them up and put them up in there, but once inside, they seem to settle in for the night just fine. In the morning when I get up, I notice they are already outside in their run, so hopefully they are staying all night inside their house. It is fully contained within the run. My question is around the roost. They are sleeping all cuddled up in the corner of their house, instead of up on their roost. Do you think they just do not know it is there? Should I physically put them up onto it and see if they stay there? Or is it something they will do on their own in their own time? Thank you in advance for your help!! [​IMG]

2. KIDDSBANTAMS

KIDDSBANTAMS Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 15, 2010
    Lexington
    All my babies use the roost their first week of life. I built them a mini roost in ery cutetheir brooder and they always hop right up there, very cute.

3. CupOJoe42

CupOJoe42 CT Chicken Whisperer

Apr 11, 2011
    My Quail D'Anver chicks were starting to fly at 3 days old. I put pieces of wood in the brooder and they also hopped on top of the EcoGlow.
    I think it depends on the chick and the height of the roost. They are 4 weeks old now and fly around like little helicopters. They like the highest place to roost, or my shoulder.

They also play a little game of who can knock who off the roost. It's so funny to watch!

Last edited: Jul 27, 2011
  4. Lucysmom002

Lucysmom002 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 6, 2011