At wits end!

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by campdirector, Jun 9, 2011.

1. campdirector

campdirector Out Of The Brooder

Apr 7, 2011
    Michigan City, IN
    Hey guys,

I am new to the BYC forum so I wish my first post was on better terms. I need some help because I am at wits end. I bought 25 guinea eggs and hatched 15 of them. A couple of them had spraddle leg so I did the bandaid trick and it worked great. All of them were happy and healthy. They were about a month and a half old completely feathers and growing quickly. I live in Northwest Indiana on 3 1/2 acres surrounded by cornfields. On Monday, coincidentally my birthday, I moved the little guys out to a screened porch in a large rubbermaid container with the hopes of putting them in the barn area in a week or two. I wanted them to get used to the outside air temps since they had been inside up until then. Because of where we live I know we have coons, coyotes and possums but they have never seemed to bother my little flock of chickens who are free range and roost in the barn at night. Soooo....on Monday night I went into the screened porch to check on my little guys and to my horror a coon had tore through the screened porch and killed and partially eaten all 15 of my guineas. Happy birthday to me! I was pretty upset seeing my 2 1/2 year old daughter was very excited when they hatched and loved watching them grow up. She keeps asking why she cant see her babies. : ( Worst part is we also had 3 little ducklings she picked out at the store they were killed as well.