Attacked by a hawk...

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by melishkia, Nov 16, 2016.

1. melishkia

melishkia Out Of The Brooder

May 26, 2016
    Hello,
    I'm so upset! I was in the kitchen, back door open, and heard a chicken squabble... I ran out to see my dog chasing off a hawk and my little rooster hobbling away. Right after it happened, he was open-mouth breathing (to be expected with a near death attack, right?) and limping. I didn't touch him in case I stressed him out even more but from what I could see, no punctures/bleeding. Now a couple hours later, I'm keeping close tabs on him and he is very lethargic, hiding in corners of the yard. I picked him up this time, he was not stressed actually very calm, and checked around and still do not see any injuries but he is huddled up and closing his eyes. I'm no expert but I think he is breathing slower than normal. I'm thinking about bringing him into the bathroom for the night to keep a close eye on him but I'm pretty worried there is internal damage.

Does anyone have any experience with this or advice?

2. melishkia

May 26, 2016
    by the way, my little rooster is still peeping I have yet to hear him crow but has all his adult feathers. He's about half the size of my adults.

3. ChickenChaser9

ChickenChaser9 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 3, 2016
    DO bring him inside. If he has no injuries then what he needs is access to water food and rest. If there are no puncture wounds there is little you can do to treat internal injuries. Make him comfortable and once he has been fed and had a chance for some good drinks let him sleep by making it dark for him. You can keep checking in every couple hours and make sure he is getting enough water. Observation is good to let you see if he is getting better or worse. You can give him some treats like scrambled eggs or unflavored greek yogurt as that will be easy for him to digest. Best wishes!

4. melishkia

May 26, 2016