Attention Quail People. Do you have recipes for quail.

Discussion in 'Quail' started by Sunny the Hippie Chick, Sep 7, 2009.

1. Sunny the Hippie Chick

Sunny the Hippie Chick Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 8, 2008
    Brookings Oregon
    Moderators.. I hope I didnt post this in the wrong thread. Should it have been in the recipe section. Sorry. Please move this if it is in the wrong place. Thanks.

Im a beginner at the raising of coturnix quail. And need ideas for cooking the quail when it is their time. I would love to get some recipes. I bet other BYCers would like to have some too.

Better yet. Maybe add the recipes to the BYC cookbook. [​IMG]
    Heres the link on how to add recipes to the book.

https://www.backyardchickens.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=162422

Thank you fellow BYCers

Last edited: Sep 7, 2009
  2. d73

d73 Out Of The Brooder

May 30, 2009
    Pine Island Florida
    I just ate my first ones last week.
    I skinned them because its easier then plucking.
    I split mine in half. Right down one side of the beast bone and right through the back.
    Salt and pepper then i flowered them and fried them in about 5/8" of oil.
    When I was done I drained most of greese and added some onions, cooked them down a little then made gravy and white rice.
    It was suprisingly good.

Was the first time I have ate quail since I was a little kid. They are soo much better then chicken.

3. JJMR794

JJMR794 Overrun With Chickens

Mar 2, 2009
    BROOKSVILLE FL
    Lemme See, Where To Start???
    Coturnix Definately Have A Way Different Taste Than Bob Whites---

Bobs,
    4 Oz Of Bourbon + Juice From 1 Lime--- Place In Zip Lock And Marinate Birds All Day, They Slow Smoke Over Hickory Or Pecan Wood--- Not Much Better Than That!

Coturnix,
    CUBAN STLYE! DUST 1/2'D BIRDS WITH ADOBO SPICE, THEN...