attn: marans people!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by kari_dawn, Oct 18, 2011.

1. kari_dawn

kari_dawn Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 2, 2009
    North Texas
    So, I have been drooling over black copper marans for about two years now....they are gorgeous birds, and they lay amazing eggs. I finally bit the bullet and ordered three girls from a hatchery. They are supposed to be Wade-Jean lines (for that matter, I hear a LOT about wade-jean/bev davis lines. Why?) I do not know alot about the breed other than I really really wanted some of these birds!

Please don't eat me if I ask something dumb!

I suspect one of my marans is a rooster. His legs are much longer (though not particularly chunky like baby roos can be) than the other two babies, and he seems more roo-ish in behavior. They are about 3-4 weeks old right now. He does not seem to have feathered legs like the other two. I know it varies by individual, but are marans roos in general big crowers? I am allowed to have roosters, but I value my relationship with my neighbors. I live in the suburbs, and our homes have generous lots, averaging about 3/4 of an acre, but they aren't large enough to keep a roo from annoying my neighbors. I have been reading some marans threads here on BYC just to see what I can learn, and the term "mossy" keeps coming up, but I am not sure what that means. Can someone please enlighten me?

Hens are supposed to have a coppery patch on the back of their necks or no? According to the french standard (which seems to be the direction breeders tend to be sticking to), how big are these birds supposed to be? How much smaller/poorer quality are the american version? How big of a difference is there in egg color from the French birds to the American ones?

Do the eggs really lighten as the laying season progresses? If so, how to do you determine the darkness of the egg, and wether genetically, the dark egg will be passed on?