April 7th small animal swap, chickens, rabbits, anything small, this includes baby animals, piggies, goats, sheep (make sure to have those scrape tags). time is 8-2 no fee to set up in the parking lot at Tractor Supply Company civic center drive, augusta. for those selling, make sure to bring water for your animals and boxes to send them home in. (also remember to clean up after yourself when you leave, we want to be invited back) for those buying, bring boxes, they seem to be hard to come by some weekends and plenty of cash to spend. please remember the 6 chick rule, if they are under 8 weeks, they must be sold in lots of 6 . now all the legal mumbo jumbo (thanks bob for sharing) ------------------------------------ IT WILL BE THE RESPONSIBILITY OF EACH VENDOR TO ABIDE BY STATE OF MAINE LAWS AND REGULATIONS; TO PROVIDE ANY REQUIRED LICENSING, ADEQUATE SHELTER, CAGING, WATER AND FOOD FOR THEIR ANIMALS; & TO CLEAN UP THEIR AREAS WHEN LEAVING. Maine State Laws governing the sale of poultry/waterfowl & goats Maine State Law: MAINE RULES AND REGS ON SALES OF LIVESTOCK, POULTRY, WATERFOWL, MILK, CHEESE http://www.maine.gov/agriculture/ahi/ahisr.html 5A. ALL SHEEP AND GOATS IN MAINE AND OUT OF STATE ARE REQUIRED TO HAVE SCRAPIE TAGS. clarification of scrape info: all goats or sheep leaving their farm (going to a swap, show, walk around the neighborhood or sale of any kind in or out of state) need to have a scrape number. this number is on a tag or can be tattooed on the animal. tags are free and so is the applicator. the person needs to call Gail at the fed USDA 866-873-2824 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting 866-873-2824 end_of_the_skype_highlighting and she will send out tags for the farm and the applicator. the tag is a way to trace back to the farm of origin if there is a problem. so if she has a goat that she bought elsewhere and it has a scrape tag, it doesn't need a new tag as long as that tag is still attached to the animal. if the tag come off, she needs to put on her scrape tag. if she goes the tattoo route, ear, thigh, or tail fold. Read more: http://farmdaysanfordmaine.proboards.com/index.cgi?board=rules&action=display&thread=1#ixzz1qskeyCwn 5B. birds do not need to be in the NPIP Program. Its great if your birds are Typhoid & Pollorum tested to keep these diseases out of US. The only time you need to have tested birds is at a fair/show. The only stipulations are that at public events in Maine you have to sell any birds under 8 weeks old in lots of 6, above the 8 weeks, they can go one at a time. Now, from your house or farm you can sell singular birds of any age. You must purchase 6 from the one family the chicks are raised in, not 1 bird here, 1 bird there. (I believe its the pecking order and younger chicks could be harmed) NO PROCESSING OR NEUTERING OF ANIMALS Mammals must be completely weaned and minimum of 8 weeks old. RULES FOR OUT OF STATE VENDORS http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/01/001/001c206.doc VENDORS DO NOT NEED A VENDORS LICENSE UNLESS THE VENDOR BUYS LIVESTOCK, POULTRY OR WATERFOWL TO RE-SELL Certificate of Veterinary Inspection: A legible certificate signed by an accredited veterinarian and approved by the chief livestock official of the state or country of origin stating that the animals are free from signs of contagious, infectious and communicable diseases and containing the following: 1. An official identification number, or identification satisfactory to the commissioner, for each animal 2. Age, sex and breed of each animal 3. The results of any qualifying test 4. The exact address of consignor (sender) and consignee (receiver). 5. The expected date of entry NH & out of state residents should have a copy of their NPIP form to show that the flocks of origin for their birds were NPIP certified. Rule Chapters for the Department of Agriculture, Food and Rural Resources 01 001 Agriculture General http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/01/chaps01.htmL ok, so who is coming and what will you be bringing!!