Aussie Chicken keeper

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Flashfire, Nov 27, 2012.

1. Flashfire

Flashfire New Egg

Nov 27, 2012
    Hello,

I have been keeping chickens for a couple of years now, I started out by buying a 5 acre property and before I knew it I had a friend, ask me to take on her 4 suburban chickens because she couldn't keep them anymore. At first they were alien creatures, I had cats and dogs but never had chickens before. So I just let them free range, fed them and collected their eggs. Then a friend asked me to take on a couple of chicks that were part of a school experiment. So like a sucker I took on the two chicks, which turned out to be two roosters. So you put roosters with chickens and what do you get. Broody bloody hens, I have been through one nesting and just left it all up to the chicken. She hatched 4 chicks, so they were added to the flock,

In the meantime I had lost a couple of the original chickens, one went bush and never came back, the other just fell off the perch and died. I bought a couple of Isabrowns, foxes got them, I bought a couple of leghorns, eagle got one and the local labrador got the other. I had to get rid of one of the roosters because he got very aggressive. Once he went the other rooster calmed down, although he got taken by a fox later on.

But now I have a flock of 6 and one rooster and my broody just hatched one chick out of 5 eggs, the other three died (I think the chicken ate one) and one egg has not started to hatch yet.

While I was watching the hatchling struggling to get out of its shell, I realised that I still don't know a great deal about chickens so its time to learn.

So here I am.

:)

Lee

2. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Greetings, Lee, and [​IMG]! Great to have you in our community. Sorry you've had some hard luck with predators! Better luck with future birds!!

3. Kevin565

Kevin565 Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Dec 22, 2009