Austra White or a Blue Wyandotte?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by twinnersmom, May 6, 2009.

1. twinnersmom

twinnersmom Out Of The Brooder

Apr 6, 2009
    Utah
    I am new to raising chickens and I picked three breeds I wanted and was inly able to get 2. I have ameraucaunas and buff orpingtons, but they coiuld not get me Brahmas. So I can either get austra whites or blue wyandottes, has anyone had any of these and can tell me about them? They will be for egg laying. Thanks!

2. hoppy

hoppy I'm not all fluff

May 5, 2007
    central maine
    I have wyandottes and love them. the combs are nice and short for winter weather so I don't get frostbite but you might not be in an area where that's a problem. they are also gentle birds.
    sorry I don't know about the austa whites.

3. JRchickchick

JRchickchick Out Of The Brooder

Feb 16, 2010
    Eugene, OR
    "Austra Whites are a cross between a Black Australorp and a White leghorn. They are a breed that was developed by Dunlap hatchery in the early 1900's. They are an excellent layer of off white eggs. They are a heavier bird and a lot less flighty then a straight leghorn."

I would think that would make them a highly prolific layer of eggs, as well as fairly tame...I'm giving them a shot this spring, and will post my opinion when the time comes!

http://www.dunlaphatchery.net/Standards.aspx

4. JRchickchick

JRchickchick Out Of The Brooder

Feb 16, 2010
    Eugene, OR
    I just checked with Coastal Farm here in Eugene, to find out when their chicks are coming, and where they order through. They order from Dunlap, which is nice to know...I can plan my chicks that way, or drive to Lazy 54 just north of Salem and get them fresh from the farm! Coastal will be having some Austra Whites come in, and I'm excited!