Australian Newbie :)

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by HelenaJean, Jan 25, 2011.

1. HelenaJean

HelenaJean Out Of The Brooder

Jan 22, 2011
    outback Australia
    hi everyone, my name's Helena McClaman, i'm from outback Australia, i'm 17 years old and rapidly becomming obsessed with chickens!
    I thought i'd better say hi, either though i've been using this wonderful site for a few days now.

I'm quite new to the whole thing, in fact, i've just brought a bunch of (what are now obviously) sick silkie's because i was too un-educated on how to identify the subtlties of disease, now my entire flock is infected and i'm wrestling with whether to cull them and start again with happy, healthy birds. Or to keep them simply because i love them to bits either though they have respiratory problems that antibiotics haven't fixed and i won't have a hope of owning a healthy bird because of infection. It's an awful decision to be faced with, so i imagine i'll be on here a fair bit, figuring things out. Any advice and/or opinions would be really appreciated.

So, tell me your name and we'll start from there! [​IMG]

2. al6517

al6517 Real Men can Cook

May 13, 2008
    [​IMG]

3. Lostbody

Lostbody Out Of The Brooder

Sep 21, 2010
    Oakland, CA
    That really is the rottenest of luck. If they do recover, they will be carriers of whatever they have now, and any new birds you add to the flock will very likely get sick also.
    There are far more experienced bird folk here that might have some more concrete advice.
    Ultimately, though, it's your call.

Have you ever culled before? Or had to kill any other animals?
    You might be able to find someone in the region who can help if you go that route.
    I'll hope for the best for you.

4. Chicken.Lytle

Chicken.Lytle Chillin' With My Peeps