Australorp comb flopping over, okay?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by pnyjmper89, Jul 21, 2010.

1. pnyjmper89

pnyjmper89 Out Of The Brooder

Jun 4, 2008
    Southern NC
    I have a question regarding my 11 1/2 week Australorp cockerel. He's already grown in a good sized comb and his wattles are starting to really drop now, but for a while we had been keeping him inside in the air conditioning during the hottest parts of the day. However, as soon as we started keeping him out in the heat his comb has flopped over to the side, like the heat has made it wilt over or something. It doesn't sit crooked or anything, just flops. This is my first time keeping roos so I'm not sure if this is something that happens in the heat and is just environmental, or if it genetic and we shouldn't hatch out any of his hens eggs. I'll get some pictures if you think they'd help [​IMG]

2. pnyjmper89

Jun 4, 2008
    Southern NC
    *tiny bump*

3. paddock36

paddock36 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 24, 2008
    Ocala, Florida
    Quote:I wouldn't think it's the heat doing it and unless your going to show him I wouldn't worry about it too much.
    This was my roo until I had to get rid of him, just too much crowing, but as you can see his comb is upright and I'm in central FL.
    [​IMG]

4. aveca

aveca Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 30, 2009
    Waverly, NY