Automatic Chicken Door

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by sarah orr, Jun 9, 2016.

1. sarah orr

sarah orr Out Of The Brooder

Jun 9, 2016
    Hello everyone,
    I'm new to Backyard Chickens and this is my first time raising a flock of ladies (and one hopefully pleasant beautiful rooster)! My chicks are a little over a month and we are building their coop now. My question is about automatic chicken doors. I've read many of the past threads and have a vague idea of what I am looking for. I am wanting to hear from people that have had their doors installed and working for years. I am ultimately interested in getting the most reliable and durable one. (pullet shut?, adore?) I also like the idea of one that has a solar sensor or something, but I live in grey Portland Oregon and would like to hear if they work well. So what is the best door out there these days that is reliable? Thanks so much

Sarah

2. FridayYet

FridayYet Innocent Bystander

Mar 3, 2011
    The Land of Enchantment
    Hi Sarah - Welcome to BYC!

I have the Ador, it's been in use for 1 year with no issues. I haven't even changed the battery. Opens in the morning, closes in the evening.

Is it the best? Heck, I don't know but I have no complaints except when I changed the program at first and it was a bit of a pain. Haven't touched it since then.

3. sarah orr

sarah orr Out Of The Brooder

Jun 9, 2016
    Thanks! It seems like Adore and Pullet Shut seem to be getting the best reviews. It's such SO hard to commit. [​IMG]

4. FridayYet

Mar 3, 2011
    The Land of Enchantment
    It is. The main reason I chose the Ador is the smaller profile. Since we will be re-configuring the run someday, I didn't want the door to be swinging the "wrong way" in the future, or to be sticking out into the run where I'd eventually run into it. (LOL - I could see myself kicking it while changing out the waterers or something,)