Automatic Chicken Door

TexasTony

Chirping
14 Years
Jun 22, 2009
Lockhart
Hi everyone,

Like many here, I wanted to put a door on my chicken coop that open in the morning & close in the evening to keep out predators. I searched the web, I read through the 20+ page threads here, I did the research & just didn't find anything that I wanted to build or buy. And my tool & die maker friend Mark had the same problem (I'm an electrical engineer).

So, six months ago we decided to build one we'd be proud to own, and along the way decided to sell it as well. Yesterday was our local chicken club meeting (Austin, TX) where we demonstrated it and everyone there just loved it. So I wanted to open up the discussion and get feedback from this larger forum as well. Please let me what do you like about it and what don't you like.

Ok, first a couple of pictures.

35021_outside_view2.jpg

35021_inside_view2.jpg

We had several criteria that our design had to meet. The first is simply that we will be proud to stand behind this product. In fact we built it strong enough that we can stand ON it. Second it would not be built of wood or strings, but would be built to last for years. Third it would be simple enough that a 12 year old or a 92 year old person could use it without instructions. And of course it would need to be affordable.

Our door will not rot or fray. The frame is built of solid 7/8” 6061 aircraft aluminum. The door itself is 1/8" thick painted aluminum clad with a plastic edging to prevent pinch cuts. If any animal can tear through it, you should let that animal have anything it wants! The pivot points are machined brass. The brass/aluminum joint will never rust or bind. The opening is 11" wide by 15" high.