Autopsy advice needed - Mareks? Tumor?

HENNIFUH

Hatching
Nov 30, 2021
Good afternoon, everyone! Newbie here with a question for you all. :) I have a large homestead and I am very experienced with raising and caring for chickens. However, I have found myself with a little issue here that is partially my fault as I should not have purchased these guys from Rural King to begin with. I usually buy from reputable hatcheries, but to be truthful, I had trouble saying no to clearanced chicks.. So, I bought many and as usual I am rather obsessed with their care and cleanliness. However, one by one, practically all suddenly got sick and died. Over 30 died, regardless of my aggressive efforts. The ones remaining have failed to thrive, often boney, underweight and small, and I have recently had two develop leg issues where they cannot stand. I am questioning Mareks and will have an official autopsy done on one. However, one died today randomly and it was one of the larger ones to have survived the sickness that killed the rest. No symptoms, just dead. When I opened her up, everything looked normal aside from this fleshy piece that I am wondering about. Is this a tumor? A fatty mass? What do you think? Forgive me if this is dumb. 🤣🤣

Attachments

• 20211130_140751-01.jpeg
    20211130_140751-01.jpeg
    342.7 KB · Views: 2

Banana01

Songster
Feb 18, 2021
San Martin, Peru
How old were the 30 that died? Other causes of mass casualty might be worms, cocci, viral or bacterial gastritis, anemia from poor diet.

There is a mareks blood test or im sure others will recommend state labs to send the dead.

How old was the one who died in the photos?

HENNIFUH

Hatching
Nov 30, 2021