1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

average on shipped eggs developing?just candled for the first time on!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by rooster1969, Dec 14, 2008.

1. rooster1969

rooster1969 Out Of The Brooder

Oct 24, 2008
    hey, i'm very new to the hatching game but i'm learning alot with the very much needed help from everyone on this forum. i've left the lid on from the day i put the eggs in and i candled them tonight on day 12 for the first time as suggested. i had 20 barbanter and 16 buff brahmas in the bator. i had 2 clear brahmas and 8 barbanter eggs i had to throw out. this does'nt sound to bad to me but i dont realy know. my temp and humidity where watched very close , temps have stayed right at 99 to 100 and 28% to 40% on the humidity in the 1588 genises. whats your thougts.

thank's,
    rick

2. william9792

william9792 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 23, 2008
    graham, nc
    hi, that is on in 3.5 avg so far, but for this time of year that is good, and you 1/2 way there. good luck keep info up to date

3. deerman

deerman Rest in Peace 1949-2012

Aug 24, 2008
    Southern Ohio
    Thats 72 % so far, not bad for shipped eggs. Let us know how you do with your hatch. Wish you the best.

4. swtangel321

swtangel321 ~Crazy Egg Lady~

Jul 11, 2008
    Sounds good so far !! Shipped eggs can be much harder then our own eggs !!

[​IMG]

5. al6517

al6517 Real Men can Cook

May 13, 2008
    What is it that makes shipped egg hatch rates much lower than our own, is it fertility, shipping enviroment and handling ??.

6. Tuffoldhen

Tuffoldhen Flock Mistress

Jan 30, 2007
    WV