ayam cemani x orpington chicks 1 spraddle legged?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Double Kindness, Aug 25, 2014.

1. Double Kindness

Double Kindness Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 25, 2014
    CO
    Hi! I have these teensy weensie chicks that my friend gave me of her recent hatch from her cemani hens. It seems there was an orpington in the henhouse!

I have no experience with day old chicks yet! My friend and I have svart honas chicks otw soon, and they aren't inexpensive. So, since these aren't the pure breed ayam cemani, not that the suspected chick papas orpington roos were rather handsome, I get to "practice" on these.
    [​IMG]

1 of these has a problem walking, possibly spraddle legged? My friend had a splint thing going with a band aid and I cut it in half this morning after talking with her about it. I just checked on them and changed the bedding to woven microfiber mats so I'm hoping the little guy can get a better grip, as it won't stay in the towel lined tiny cup and my bf hurt himself with the power drill Saturday building my new enclosed chicken run and setting up the coop for the 26 itty bitty peep peeps that were getting too big for my brooder boxes.

Yes, we're going about this a bit backwards. With starting with pullets, then a hen, then a grown Semi-quieted rooster, then 3-4 week old chicks to days old chicks. Next hatching eggs! #chickenmath

I'm waiting for my bf to get off work and run to the store for the vetwrap? The stuff to kinda get his legs braced. He can stand on one leg, but not both? He seems to fall asleep a lot and isn't as advanced and sturdy as his littermates are, but I'm hoping to not lose any of these! Any advice would be great, as I have no clue really what I'm doing yet.