1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

[b]Someone who knows what the *HECK* the are talking About![/b]

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Cats'n'Chicks, Feb 15, 2011.

1. Cats'n'Chicks

Cats'n'Chicks Out Of The Brooder

Jul 29, 2010
    Hi,
    I'm new to all of this. I had these plans drawn up for a coop. they are revised based on comments i had here.
    it's for 8 chickens. the coop is 6x6 and run is 6x12.
    Feedback please. don't worry, you won't hurt my feelings :) I want to get this "right."
    Previous comments were invaluable.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. HEChicken

HEChicken Overrun With Chickens

Aug 12, 2009
    BuCo, KS
    My Coop
    Great job so far. The only advice I could give would be to raise the height of the roosts. Chickens like to roost as high as they can get. I would put them about 18" under the ceiling. The people door - is it wide enough to wheel in a wheelbarrow?

3. Junkmanme

Junkmanme Chillin' With My Peeps

I know "what the heck I'm talking about !!!

Uh...could you repeat the question?

-Junkmanme- [​IMG]

4. chickened

chickened Overrun With Chickens

Oct 2, 2010
    western Oregon
    You forgot the toilet:) It looks great, I would add as much overhang as you can on the roof especially over the run area helps keep it dry.

5. speckledhen

speckledhen Intentional Solitude Premium Member

Quote:Not necessarily. Depends on the size of the bird. A big Orp would kill itself or break a leg trying to jump down from that height. No way mine could even get up there, much less get down. If you have bantams, yeah, high roosts are okay. So much depends on the breed/size of chicken. They like to look out the window when they roost, too.

6. Cargo

Cargo Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 28, 2010
    Farmington, NM