Babies!

Discussion in 'Quail' started by mz.candiz, Nov 19, 2011.

1. mz.candiz

mz.candiz Out Of The Brooder

Nov 18, 2011
    Edmonton
    I am pretty new to button quail; I had bought a pair from a local bird show fairly recently. Since then I have been reading up as much as I can about them. I had thought about trying my hand at incubation, but then decided against it figuring I would rather see the momma quail raise the babies if she decided to go broody. I stopped taking the eggs away from the parents, and after 12 were laid Priscilla went broody. I was very excited, but held my breath because I had read of quails going broody and then getting off the eggs before incubation was finished.

On day 17 (yesterday) I checked them probably every hour to see if any had hatched. Nothing for awhile; then I went downstairs and saw both the male and female sitting on the nest. It was too cute so I had to take some pictures. All my picture taking startled the male off the nest, and sure enough, BABIES! I could see 4 tiny little damp babies. It wasn't long after that until 10 of the 12 eggs had hatched and were little fuzzballs running around with the mom. The male seemed like he wanted to help with the babies, but he was being abit rough for my liking, so I decided to put him in his own cage temporarily. I removed all of the egg shells, and the last two eggs which I candled. They appeared as though the embryo had passed early on in incubation.

I thought I would share some pictures with all of you, since you have been delighting me with pictures of your adorable babies and quail while I waited for mine! But unfortunately, as I am new here, I am unable to post any yet.

Today, they are scooting around like crazy after Momma! They seems so much more coordinated already. I will keep everyone updated as everything progresses, and get pics up as soon as I can.

2. mochicken

mochicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 27, 2011
    NW Missouri