Baby Chicens dying

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by alfuller8, Apr 28, 2011.

1. alfuller8

alfuller8 New Egg

Apr 28, 2011
    This is my first time trying to raise baby chickens, but we have done really good up until this week. The chicks turned 8 weeks old and now we are loosing a chicken a day. It started with our two little Bantums (hubby thought that maybe our rooster had attacked because they were so small) then yesterday we lost a Rock?? and today I watched as another died. The one this morning sat down and stated rocking back and forth then just fell over dead.

I am so confused as to what is going on. I was hoping that perhaps someone on here would have some advise. I have read through about the feeding and housing and we are doing all of that correctly, and like I said it just started this week.

Thanks in advance,
    Amber

2. nurseshelly

nurseshelly Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 24, 2011
    Gilbert AZ
    Quote:I'm sorry about your chicks [​IMG] I don't have any idea what is wrong though.

3. jenlynn4

jenlynn4 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 12, 2007
    PA
    no other symptoms? Could be poison? Not sure.

4. MeowCluckBark

MeowCluckBark Chicken Lickin' Good

Mar 28, 2011
    Boise, ID
    Let's think like a diagnostitician. What has changed in the last week for them. Weather? Food? Are they free ranging or in a run, or both? Did anyone spray for weeds at your house or your neighbors where they might have eaten? Check their food, is there any evidence of mold or possible other bacteria. Check each one thoroughly and look for any signs of illness, mites, fleas, etc. Are any of them still acting strange, lethargic, etc.

I don't know what could be wrong but if we get all the possible info we might be able to find some answers together.

5. fshinggrl

fshinggrl Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2009
    the edge of insanity
    sorry for your losses. It's never easy!

6. Anianna

Anianna Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 28, 2010