Baby Chick Diet???

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by chickenlover09, Jul 25, 2014.

1. chickenlover09

chickenlover09 Chirping

Jul 17, 2014
    Hi everyone! I'm very new to chickens and need help on their diet.

For their whole lives (they are 16 or 17 days old) they have been eating just the Ace Hi Chick Starter Mash 22% and fresh water. Is there anything else I should be feeding them? The 2 big chicks live outside, and have a big feeder full of water and another of their feed, so I only have to fill it every couple days, but they always seem very bored with it.
    Can I feed them eggs? Boiled and mashed or scrambeled? How much?
    Do I need to feed them grit? What is grit and what type should I feed them?

I'll probably be going to the feed store in 2 weeks to get food for my bunnies, and is there anything that I should get for the chicks? All they have now is their feed, wood shavings, and water.

Sorry if this question is sort of basic, but I know practically nothing about chickens.

Thanks for any help!

2. Sseckel

Sseckel Chirping

Oct 20, 2013
    Homestead, IA
    Your babes will be just fine on the mash until they are a bit older. I usually wait until they are feathered out to start in on treats. I don't think that is a rule though. My older hens like black oil sunflower seeds, pretty much any veggie, grass, weeds, meal worms, etc.. I haven't fed mash before I usually just feed crumbles and those have enough grit to hold them until they are older. Hope that answers some of your questions.

3. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Free Ranging

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    I don't believe there is grit in any chicken feed I've ever used.
    Some say that birds that only eat chicken feed don't need grit because the grain in it is already ground but grit helps to develop the gizzard even if they only eat chicken feed.

There's basically 3 sizes of grit for chickens - depending on age. The following link will help.