Baby chick hobbling on elbows

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Harmon Gardens, Mar 4, 2009.

1. Harmon Gardens

Harmon Gardens New Egg

Mar 3, 2009
    I need some help on my two week old chicks that aren't standing anymore! They were ok until today and now several (7 out of 15) are barely moving on their legs - more like a still shuffle on their honches. They were placed in a brooder with four week old chicks four days ago and were fine as well the older chicks don't have this affliction. I've moved the two week old chicks out to a separate box and even did some taping to their feet, thinking they had curled toes or something! HELP ... I'm a true novice and really thought I had done my reading and research.

2. cwc362

cwc362 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 26, 2008
    Huntingdon- West Tn
    What breed are they? Some heavier breeds are prone to going down on their legs. I think the jumbo cornish are really prone to this and sometimes even other heavy breeds.

3. Mysto

Mysto Out Of The Brooder

Jan 20, 2009
    Pacific Northwest
    I have a Sussex that is doing that now too - she is about 4 months old though. She got picked on by one of my older hens and started limping on one leg. Now her "good" leg seems weak too. I have her by herself, but she seems to be getting worse, not better. I foun dher laying down on her side tonight. I tried to help her stand up, but she kept falling forward. I have Purina Kitten Chow and Chick Start out for her to eat - hoping she'd get some extra protein, but I'm not sure she even has the strength to move around?? Should I put her in a box that's too small for her to move around?? Any advice would be so appreciated...thanks

4. AngelzFyre

AngelzFyre Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 18, 2007
    Pell City, Alabama
    I would tend to think that from what you describe it may be a vitamin deficiency.