Baby chick poop

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by bigdmomma1, Apr 7, 2017.

1. bigdmomma1

bigdmomma1 New Egg

Apr 6, 2017
    Hi I am a newby chick raiser we have had our chicks almost a week now and everything was going fine and then today we noticed that one or two of them had developed diarehea we are using electrolytes in their water and keeping them clean and feed with the medicated chick starter food is there something I am missing or should be doing asking for help for a first time Chick Mom

2. megdarling

megdarling Out Of The Brooder

Feb 17, 2017
    Walkertown, NC
    I am a newbie as well, have you looked into fermenting their feed? I have dry feed available all of the time and twice a day I put a dish of the fermented stuff out for my 6 3 week olds, they love it. In my observations It firms their droppings up significantly (it's like a person eating yogurt to improve their digestion and gut health) I put a bit of apple cider vinegar in their water as well.

3. pink lady

pink lady Out Of The Brooder

Hi I'm new too but i give mine fresh water and apple cider vinegar once a week just for a day. electrolytes in their water is good but it's like us to much can give you the runs. theirs a web site called "the chicken chick" she wrote a really good post about normal poop and non-normal poop's a little soft is fine and normal if it's not all the time. but if it's really runny all the time I'd try just giving them just water. also are you giving them treats as well as chick stater? when mine where a week old I bought flowers with lot's of leafy greens on them ( the bigger chicken outside love them too) and some shell grit. Hope that helps [​IMG]

1 person likes this.
  4. bigdmomma1

bigdmomma1 New Egg

Apr 6, 2017
    Thanks for the advice guys I will try this didn't know I could give flowers with green leafy

5. pink lady

pink lady Out Of The Brooder