baby chick with prolasped vent

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by newtoallthis, Feb 18, 2014.

1. newtoallthis

newtoallthis Out Of The Brooder

Feb 15, 2014
    Central, FL
    Nothing like waiting till the last minute and I'm sorry! I was introduced to this site a mear three weeks ago and have read it religiously since. I thought I would have time for introductions and what not before I needed to ask a question (even though I have a million lol! :) ..... But I don't....I have a 7 day old Silkie that I got 4 days ago that has been fighting pasty butt for 3 days. No problem right! Well yes, yesterday I thought I saw a prolasped vent when cleaning but did nothing because most things online talk about hens with this issue so I thought it was of no concern for non laying babies. Well today I realized I was right and cleaned it again and applied preparation H twice throughout the day. (I forgot to put the orajel on there to numb her as I read cause I'm a newbie.) I watched her eat, drink and poop all day but boy is it huge as others have said. I pushed it back in only for it to come RIGHT back out! I noticed when I hold her she likes me but is scared and peeps which causes her bottom to pertrude even more so I decided to handle her as little as possible this evening to prevent this. I separated her in the brooder and all she did was peep so I didn't want to stress her out and cause more protrusion so I put her back in with the flock shortly after mostly because she still has enough strength to peck the other 3 to gain her order. I do see her sleeping more today then the others of the same age and she's squatting like a human to poop so I know it hurts and it is taking her energy to be like this. I googled a vent sling only to see that the post were meant for hens and your supposed to leave it on over night inwhich I'm afraid to do to block her from pooping. I mean if I put a bandage across her vent to hold it firmly then how can my little pooper poop?