Baby Chicken Injection

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by JayniPalmer, Jun 14, 2011.

1. JayniPalmer

JayniPalmer New Egg

Jun 14, 2011
    Hi, I am new to raising chickens but my 13 yr old daughter wanted to. So we thought we would give it a try. We incubated 36 eggs and hatched 17. One died after 3 days. All were doing great but one started breathing hard after about 4 days. She has done this for 3 days now. My vet said try tylosine, went to the local mill and it was $50. The lady at the store said she gives her chickens Penicillin. I'm a nurse and thought I could do that. I gave it an injection of less than 0.1ml with a TB syringe in the thigh. NOW she barely uses that leg. Has any one ever experienced this? I have read alot of the posts about how they usually won't make it but I have to try (with in reason) to help her. She eats some, drinks some, poops a little but now I think I have made it worse. I'm a little scared of giving the injection in the breast, but I can't do it in her leg again. HELP!!!!

2. CMV

CMV Flock Mistress

Apr 15, 2009
    [​IMG]

Sorry it is under such lousy circumstances.

First- don't ever listen to anything that anyone has to say at the feed store. You will get more misinformation that way than any other. I am so glad you found BYC because should you ever have a problem in the future you need to look here first. There are a ton of highly knowledgeable people here that would love to help you out.