baby chicks not eating

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by blooo, Jun 10, 2008.

1. blooo

blooo Out Of The Brooder

Jun 10, 2008
    berkeley, ca
    hi everyone,

i just bought my three chicks today, so i am completely new at this. they are 4 weeks old and have some of their feathers. since i brought them home around 3 in the afternoon, they have not been eating.

i have them in a box with a few inches of chipped(?) corn cob, a chick feeder and waterer. they've drunk a bit of water, but don't seem to be eating. i'm using purina start & grow.

i also have a heat lamp, but it was pretty hot today and one of the chicks was panting, so i turned it off. it's cooled off a bit, so the lamp is on and it is 82 degrees. they have been sleeping most of the day.

is it normal for them not to eat for so long? anything i need to do? any advice would be greatly appreciated!

thanks!

2. seminolewind

seminolewind Flock Mistress Premium Member

Sep 6, 2007
    spring hill, florida
    Try to offer them some yogurt on your finger. Wipe some on their beak so they can taste it. You can try mash, mix some feed with some water, and see if that sparks the appetite.

3. conny63malies

conny63malies Overrun With Chickens

Mar 22, 2008
    Annetta Kentucky
    i am pretty sure at four weks you can turn the temp down to 75F without any harm.

4. blooo

blooo Out Of The Brooder

Jun 10, 2008
    berkeley, ca
    ok, tried the mash and they seem to like that. but they only want to eat it off my finger and each other's feathers!

i smeared some mash on the edges of the feeder, but they don't seem to see the feeder at all! anyone run into anything like this?

5. Anne

Anne Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 11, 2007
    Bellingham, WA
    It might not be what they're used to. What did the feeder look like at the place you got them? I'm sure they'll find your feeder if they get hungry enough. [​IMG] Silly chickens.

6. blooo

blooo Out Of The Brooder

Jun 10, 2008
    berkeley, ca