Baby cottontails in my coop

Discussion in 'Pictures & Stories of My Chickens' started by mdibaugh, May 17, 2010.

1. mdibaugh

mdibaugh Out Of The Brooder

Apr 5, 2010
    Eaton rapids, Mi
    My baby chicks are shipping on the 24th of May and my coop is almost done. This is my first attempt at raising chickens. Yesterday i moved my coop to mow under the back side of it. We made a pass with the John Deere rider and low and behold a nest of baby cottontails. Out of four this is the only one that made it. Its eyes are open and the neighbors are attempting to save it. Did some research and it seems this will be a tough task. However it is eating kittens milk out of a syringe. Only time will tell. Figured it was worth posting here. I have never uploaded pics so i hope it works.

[​IMG][​IMG]

Last edited: May 17, 2010
  2. mdibaugh

mdibaugh Out Of The Brooder

Apr 5, 2010
    Eaton rapids, Mi
    [​IMG] Oops wanted to send the pic of the bunny. Here you go.

3. NurseELB

NurseELB Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 16, 2008
    Lacey, WA
    Awww, good luck! Never had success when we'd find them back in the midwest. This one seems older though.

4. DelhiRose

DelhiRose Out Of The Brooder

May 16, 2010
    Cincinnati
    Something similar happened to us recently...I contacted a wildlife rescue, and was advised that we should put the bunny back in the nest because mama has a strong mothering instinct and will come back, despite the human scent. Also, once their ears are up and eyes are open they're pretty close to being independent anyway. I did just what she said, and they did fine. Until they became a late night snack for some bigger critter.
    Aren't baby bunnies just the sweetest, softest little things, thoug?

5. Chicky Tocks

Chicky Tocks [IMG]emojione/assets/png/2666.png?v=2.2.7[/IMG] Ru

Oct 20, 2008
    Benton, Arkansas