baby ducks are skittish

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by MMaddTom, May 15, 2008.

1. MMaddTom

MMaddTom New Egg

Apr 6, 2008
    i have three groups of baby ducks , cayugas, saxonys and khaki campbells. the khakis are like nervous wrecks. the others are becoming tamer everyday but these khakis are like electric ducks. they spook no matter what you do and they never stop running from cornewr to corner. is this a breed trait? cause if it is i'm not so sure i like it. the saxonys are tame and the cayugas actually come to your hand but its like we strike terror in the khakis and we treat them all the same

2. dragonshiner

dragonshiner Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 20, 2008
    NE Wisconsin
    This is my first time raising ducklings. I have 7 khaki campbells and one indian runner. They are all two to three weeks old. I bought them when they were approximately four days old. To this day no matter what I do they runn like mad from me. The runner is the friendliest of the bunch and tolerates my affection, but the khakis keep their distance. From all the sources, internet and books, I've read Khaki campbells are about as hand shy as ducks can get. I'm not too thrilled about it either but I'm going to keep a small flock none the less to breed for eggs and foraging in my garden. I'd like to get some hand friendlier ducks as well but I'm resigned to the fact that most ducks are not "People Persons" for lack of a better phrase.

3. arlee453

arlee453 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 13, 2007
    near Charlotte NC
    Can't help you with ducks too much, but am just glad to see someone spell 'skittish' correctly!

If they are like chicks, they will get friendler as they get past the 'everything really really wants to eat baby ducks' stage and they figure out where the treats come from.

Enjoy your ducks!

4. DuckyBoys

DuckyBoys Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 2, 2008
    Colorado