Baby Monitor

PTFowl

In the Brooder
8 Years
Aug 16, 2011
WA
I recently saw a post on one of these forums talking about putting a baby monitor in the coop, then I did a search on the topic and read the baby monitor thread from 2009. Now I'm convinced that a baby monitor for the coop would really help keep the girls safe. (The chicks are going to hatch the first week of September). I've never used a baby monitor before and I've never had chickens before. Here's my question: Should I buy the used 2-channel Safety First 475 mhz model that is at my local thrift shop for $5 or, fork over $36.75 for a new Sony 900 mhz 27-channel model that got excellent reviews on Amazon? When I tested the Safety First model at the thrift shop today there was a lot of static but otherwise it had good sound quality and range. I'm thinking that maybe there was extra static in the thrift shop because they had a few tv sets running, i don't know.

Probably the thrift shop was a bad place for testing. At $5 i would pick it up and try it. If later you decide on a different model you aren't out much and can resell it.

Quote:
x2 As a chicken owner (or as a person owned by chickens
tongue.png
), you'll be making changes and improvements every few months...lol. So start off "cheeply."

Okay then it's a consensus. The $5 monitor it is. This list has already saved me 30 bucks and i don't even have the chickens yet.

There are different ranges, so be sure to read the box.
Also if you use alot of electronic devices, go with digital for better reception.
I love the monitor we used for our daughter and then for our baby chicks! It is a great way to repurpose it, some people use them for puppies and the elderly too.
good luck!