Baby Pigeon with Air in his crop! HELP!

Discussion in 'Pigeons and Doves' started by maggiemaybe, Jul 25, 2014.

1. maggiemaybe

maggiemaybe New Egg

Jul 25, 2014
    Paradise ca
    Could use some advice here. I'm hand raising a baby about 2 weeks old. He got an air bubble in his crop a few days ago. Trying to figure out how to help him. I tried popping the bubble. EEEE! My baby! Thats whatI read to do. It didnt seem to help and freaked me out! I've been gently massaging the air out, seems to be keeping him alive but doesn't seem to make it better by the next feeding. Anyone have this problem, ideas, thoughts? I'm brand new to Pigeons. Thanks y'all!

2. Kneedles

Kneedles Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 22, 2014
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Would trying to straighten out its neck and softly pushing on the lump help?

3. maggiemaybe

maggiemaybe New Egg

Jul 25, 2014
    Paradise ca
    Thats what I've been doing. : ) Though it gets the air out and keeping him alive, the air doesn't seem to be going away. I think it all most been a week now. I'm worried by pushing out the air its not curing him and prolonging the problem. But, otherwise he seems very healthy. Lots of energy, and noticeably growing everyday. Well, that I can tell. Never had pigeon baby before. Thank you!

1 person likes this.
  4. jak2002003

jak2002003 Overrun With Chickens

Oct 24, 2009
    Thailand
    I had rear a lot of pigeons and find the best way to get the air out is at feeding time when the crop is empty of food.

Before you start to feed him, hold his beak between 2 fingers and gently pull his head up straight so his neck is right out. Then gently massage his crop and 'squeeze' out the air.

Then do not feed him for at least 20 mins, to give him time to recover.