Baby Rooster Starting to Crow

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by weebles&wobblesmom, Aug 7, 2011.

1. weebles&wobblesmom

weebles&wobblesmom Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 24, 2011
    1 of my Bantum roosters is trying to crow. The first time I heard him, I thought something was eating them. It sounded so "sick"....LOL I watched him the other day and he is so cute. He sits up as tall as he can, looks like he's this big tough "man" and this noise comes out.....[​IMG]. I couldn't help but laugh.

This is my first time with chickens and ducks and I never realized how much fun they could be.

2. Tripp16

Tripp16 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 26, 2011
    North Carolina
    Haha Im still waiting on my little bantam roo to crow!! Actually I have two in seperate pens that are the same age!

What breed of bantams do you have??? [​IMG]

3. weebles&wobblesmom

weebles&wobblesmom Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 24, 2011
    Sounds bad but I'm not sure what kind they are. I got them because people ordered them from the store I work at and then didn't want them. I only ordered 6 barred rock chicks and 1 Pekin duckling for myself, but I ended up with 42 chicks and ducklings total. I know I have some booted bantams and I have some with little breads (they are so cute). I also have 7 Pekins, 2 fawn runners, 4 white rocks, 5 Polish (2 black with white, 2 gray/black and 1 all white), 2 cornish cross (which was "suppose" to have been eaten at 6 weeks but I couldn't do it) and I ended up with 11 barred rock. I did have some of my bantams die when I first brought them home.

For my first time ever having chickens, I got a much bigger flock than I wanted but they are fun.

My first Pekin was sickly and the store wasn't going to give it to the people who ordered it so I brought her home. (I'm a HUGE sucker for animals). Happy to say, she didn't die. She was 4 days old when I got her and she's now 19 weeks.