baby turkey with deformity...

thecityman

Songster
11 Years
Jun 14, 2010
Orlinda, TN
Hi folks. If you've seen my other post then you know I'm a releative newbie (I've had a few successful quail and chicken hatches raised to adulthood in the past, but its been a LONG time and I'd still call myself a beginning with a LITTLE experience) Anyway, I recently hatched 6 baby turkeys (they are 3 days old now). 5 of them seem extremely healthy and happy. They are in a brooder box that is 95 degrees on the heated end with the ability for them to go to the other side which is about 87-90 degrees. They have food (medicated chick starter- soon to be gamebird starter) and water and seem to be partaking of both. Now for the sad part...
One of the babies has a foot/leg that is turned outward. It is not an injury, it was born this way. It is basically unable to stand up at all. It is, however, able to scoot around enough to get food and water, so I think it could probably survive with me closely watching and helping it along. However, what has me concerned is that it CONSTANTLY chirps very loudly...sort of like a lost chick might do. When I say constantly, I'm saying almost 24 hours a day...LOUDly. I believe it may be in pain. Worse yet, its leg joint is starting to get a little sore on it where it is dragging it.

Look, I know the outlook is probably not good for this little guy. However, I think that since its eating and drinking and is alert, I could probably nurse it along......but what kind of a life will it have??? I'm DEEPLY conflicted by this little guy (or girl). Plus these are rare, wild turkeys (lets please not debate whether I should have even tried to hatch the eggs after the mother was gone-and she WAS gone) so I really want to do everything possible to save it. On the other hand I feel it may be suffering and may have a hard life ahead. I just don't know what to do!