Back to My Roots

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by feather forest, Sep 24, 2012.

1. feather forest

feather forest Out Of The Brooder

Sep 24, 2012
    Hello Everyone! I am so excited to be here! Finding this website is like Christmas morning for a chicken lover, :)
    This is my first time on this form as a registered member and I am new to raising chickens, unless you want to count my brief love affair with them years ago. Let me tell you that story and you call tell me if it counts. :)
    As a child, I was given the opportunity to go on a week long adventure with my grandmother to visit an aunt who lived 5 hours away. That visit was very enjoyable and was going along just fine. However, my aunt we were staying with, made the mistake of taking me to my uncle's chicken farm. There, I not only fell in love with the chickens, but was told by my uncle that if I ever wanted any chickens, I knew where to find them. I was so taken by the idea of having my own chickens, that when we returned to my aunt's house that afternoon, I did something completely out of character for the very shy child that I was. I ran downstairs to my temporary bed and flung myself across it, crying and doing my best to cause enough racket to be noticed.
    Five minutes later, my grandma appeared, bewildered to see her normally silent granddaughter worked into a frenzy of immense proportions. Both of us embarrassed by this display of emotion, my grandma coaxed the problem out of me; I just had to get me some of those chickens!
    I can imagine the surprise on my mother's face when she received the phone call from my grandmother, explaining that I was making such a demand. Both must have known how serious I was about this request however, as I found myself returning home in a sweltering car, legs stuck to the seat, sweat pooling on my back, and chicks quietly pecking from the inside of a box placed carefully at my feet! Oh the bliss!