Bad mama hen??

rainbowcharmer

Hatching
May 22, 2015
So 22 days ago I had a hen go broody. I've been keeping backyard chickens for 4 or 5 years now, and this is the first one to go broody on me. I also have a rooster because he was mistakenly identified as female when I bought a group of female chicks a couple years ago. Anyhow, I figured - OK - broody hen sitting on fertile eggs - I guess we'll have a few new chicks in the flock! She was in my top nest box and I worried that with it being so far off the floor, it probably wasn't the safest place to raise babies. So about 4 or 5 days into her broody sitting, we moved her to a nest box in a dog crate on the floor of the coop - this way she and the babies are left alone by the others for the time being. When we picked her up, she was sitting on 20+ eggs!! She had been stealing them from other hens! We had noticed a decrease in eggs, but thought perhaps because she was in one of the boxes that the others had found a place to lay outside the coop and we just hadn't discovered it yet. Anyhow, we moved her AND all the eggs because I didn't want to kill any developing babies to this new nest box. She's been very faithful sitting on them and protecting them. But yesterday when we came home we found two dead baby chicks. One outside the coop altogether - which means it must have traveled a ways to get there. And one just outside the nest box still in the dog crate. The one outside the coop was dry and fluffy - had been hatched for a little while anyhow. And the one inside the crate was still wet. I'm not sure why these chicks were out from under her at all. Is she kicking them out as they hatch? Did she maybe chase out the one that was a little bit older and scare it out of the crate?? They are small enough that they can certainly fit through those crate wires - but I really thought that babies would stay with mama and that wouldn't be a problem to start out with... I also thought that typically they stay under mama for the